Wapato School District No. 207
Director, District 3

  • Description of Office
  • Phillip J. Miranda, Jr.
  • María Antonia García Erickson

School Districts

Yakima County is divided into 17 separate school districts, each governed by a
five-member board of directors who serve regular four (4) year terms. Their responsibilities focus on four areas: Quality of instruction, district planning, policy development and communications. Directors are local policy makers and serve as a link between the school system and the public.

Board members are elected in a nonpartisan general election by all voters within the school district. They receive no salary. Board members are partners in a management team and share in a variety of management decisions from fiscal accounting, employment of teachers, educational materials, and facilities to transportation services.

School directors are called upon to be leaders in the following areas:
     √ assessing and reflecting the educational needs and values of the community;
     √ developing an educational philosophy;
     √ establishing school district goals;
     √ providing for program development activities;
     √ reviewing the financial needs of the districts;
     √ assuring systematic review and evaluation of all phases of the school program

No candidate statement or photo submitted
María Antonia García Erickson

My name is Maria Garcia Erickson and I am currently serving as your School Board Director for District 3.  It is an honor to represent families and community members of Wapato; this is where I grew up and I want to be part of seeing Wapato School District continue to make academic gains and celebrate all of our students.  I am serving as the Legislative Representative, have visited Olympia various times and have met Representatives and Senators to discuss issues that impact our school district.  I am working hard to listen, learn, communicate, and contribute to making our schools standout.