Jennifer Richter, Recording Supervisor
Completing the Application:
We offer three ways of completing the application.
1) Fill out application on-line - you must still come in to the office:
IMPORTANT: Applying on-line only enters the data into our system; you have NOT actually applied until you both come into our office in person to complete the process.
2) Print out the application, fill it out, bring it into the Recording Division of the Auditor's Office:
IMPORTANT: This application is only to be used when one or both of the applicants is unable to come into our office and the application is being signed and notarized. Someone still needs to bring it into our office with the correct fees and additional information to complete the application process.
3) Come into the Auditor's Office Recording Division
There is a three (3) day waiting period beginning the first day after you apply for your license and ending the third day following the date of application. You may not get married during this waiting period. (We issue the license and post-date it three days so that you are able to take it with you at the time of purchase.)
The license is valid for 60 days from the date of application. If you do not use the license within this 60-day period, a new license will need to be purchased.
Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony. There is no minimum or maximum age for witnesses, but it is recommended that witnesses be fully aware of their responsibilities in the marriage ceremony.
Performing the Ceremony:
State law prescribes who can perform a marriage ceremony: active and retired Justices of the Washington Supreme Court, Court of Appeals Judges, Superior Court Judges, Superior Court Commissioners, District Court Judges, minicipal court judges, supreme court commissioners, and court of appeals commissioners. In addition, regularly licensed or ordained ministers or priests of any church or religious denominations may perform marriage ceremonies.
Ministers from any state may perform marriage ceremonies, but the ceremony must be performed in the state of Washington. Neither applicant may perform the ceremony.
For information about scheduling a District Court Judge to perform the ceremony, please call the District Court Office at (509) 574-1779, during regular business hours.
All marriage records are a matter of public record. The one exception to this is for those enrolled in the State's Address Confidentiality program.
Copies of Marriage Certificates:
A copy or certified copy of a marriage license may be obtained by writing to the Yakima County Auditor's Recording Division, PO Box 12570, Yakima, WA 98909-2570. Include a check or money order for $1.00 for a copy, or $3.00 for a certified copy. Be sure to include the applicants names and the date of marriage.