Show All Answers
If a parcel is sold at a foreclosure sale for an amount greater than the minimum bid, the surplus monies (excess proceeds) can be claimed by the previous recorded title owner provided that all registered liens having a legal right to claim the money have been satisfied. If a valid claim has not been received after a three year period, the surplus is deposited into County funds. (RCW 84.64.080).
The amount of fees or compensation provided to third parties assisting in locating or purporting to locate any property or surplus funds is limited to 5% of the value returned to the rightful owner under RCW 63.29.350. Any person violating this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than the amount of the fee or charge he or she has sought or received or contracted for, and not more than 10 times such amount, or imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both.
There is a secure drop box located outside the entrance of the Courthouse and a new secure drive-up drop box located across from the Courthouse on the north side of Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, both available 24/7. There are also drop boxes located inside the Treasurer’s Office or along the West Wall outside of our office.
Our office may not have your most current mailing address. However, you do not need the property tax statement to make your payment. You can find your tax and assessment information under the heading of Pay Property Taxes. Just include your parcel number with your payment to avoid any complications in having your payment applied.
Please remember, even if you have not received your property tax statement, it is your responsibility to pay the taxes in a timely manner to avoid delinquent charges.
This information is located under the Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 458-18-215 and may be accessed in the Paying Property Taxes Under Protest (PDF). You must follow the directions provided explicitly in order to maintain your right to an appeal.
Any property/mobile home located in the following city limits are subject to a 1.78% excise tax fee plus an additional $5 for a state technology fee: Grandview, Granger, Mabton, Sunnyside, Union Gap, Wapato, Yakima and Zillah.
All other locations are subject to a 1.53% excise tax fee plus the additional $5 for the state technology fee.
Note: Excise tax and/or transfer fees must be paid in cash or certified funds.
The Washington State Department of Revenue maintains the most current excise tax rates.
There is a Real Estate Excise Tax Supplemental Statement (PDF) that must be signed by both parties, and it must accompany the completion of a Real Estate Excise Tax Affidavit and your conveyance document.