- Both applicants must be at least 18 years old and must have current government-issued photo ID as proof of age and current legal name. The name on your ID must match the name on the application and certificate.
- Applicants who are 17 years old must be accompanied by one parent or legal guardian who can provide consent.
- Applicants under the age of 17 must obtain permission from the Family Court.
- Blood tests and physical exams are not required to obtain a marriage license.
- Applicants do not have to be residents of the state of Washington to obtain a marriage license. The license is only valid for weddings that are performed within the state of Washington.
- Proof of divorce from a previous spouse, or death of a spouse, is not required to obtain a marriage license. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the final decree of divorce is filed before applying for a new marriage license.
- You will need to know your Social Security number (if applicable). You will also need to know your birth state/country and your parents' birth names and state/country.
Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony. Witnesses should be at least 12 years of age.
- The Marriage License starts at $68
- Additional fee for using credit card or debit card
- A keepsake certificate printed on acid-free paper with a colored background is available for $5 more
- A certified copy of your marriage certificate may be automatically mailed for an additional $4.
- In office: cash, signed money order, cashier's check or debit/credit card
(convenience fee will apply for credit or debit card use)
- By mail: signed money order or cashier's check
- Sorry, no personal checks are accepted